Return to Headlines


 D60's Board of Education and Superintendent MacalusoThe District 60 Board of Education has two new members as well as a new President and Vice President.

Elected in November, Dr. Kathy DeNiro and Dr. Matthew Cranswick were sworn into office Monday evening by Deborah Eyler, chief judge for the Colorado 10th Judicial District Court.

Both come to the board with extensive backgrounds in education.

Dr. DeNiro is a retired District 60 educator and administrator, and Dr. Cranswick is an Associate Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at Colorado State University Pueblo.

The new board members replace outgoing President Taylor Voss and Board Member Judge Dennis Maes, both of whom chose not to seek re-election.

Once the new Board was seated, the first item of business was to elect a President.

Dr. Margaret Wright, who has served as Board Vice President for the past two years, was voted in as President. 

“I do see it as a team effort,” said Dr. Wright, who brings to the Presidency decades of experience as an educator and administrator. “And I do respect every one of your gifts here on the Board, and I look forward to working with you.”

With President Dr. Wright seated, the election of a Vice President took place, with two-year Board Member Tommy Farrell earning that designation.

A reception hosted by Superintendent Charlotte Macaluso followed the swearing-in ceremony.